God Made Me Beautiful. He Made You Beautiful, Too!!

I don’t often share about God’s blessings, but that is about to change. Today, I was attacked by the enemy. He was telling me that my body is too fat and that I’ll never get down to do my goal weight. I’ve had weight problems most of my life – underweight and now overweight. While it took a while (around an hour), to realize that this was a lie of the enemy, trying to steal my joy of everything else in my life, God stepped in – as usual.

In the Scriptures, God tells us – multiple times – that the greatest commandment is to LOVE. As our Divine Creator, He knows his children … and how thick headed we can be at times … otherwise, He wouldn’t have to tell us so many times that we need to Love one another!! Probably the best known verse on love is 1 Corinthians 13:4-13:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. (Emphasis, my own).

After praying a bit, another verse came to mind – 1 Samuel 16:7b – The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.

This last nugget of scripture really hit home. God laid it upon my heart that in order to love one another – as He commands us – we first have to start with loving ourselves – body, mind, and soul. How many women look into the mirror and are unhappy with how they look? Most – if not all – women I know have something about their body – be it their nose, eyes, thighs, buttocks, or belly – they would like to change. In 2011, women had almost 8.4 million cosmetic procedures, 91% of the total. The number of cosmetic procedures for women increase over 208% from 1997. (Statistics from the American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery). Too often, society and media influence our views on ourselves making us feel too fat (or thin), have too big of a nose, or our “proportions” aren’t “right.” Who defines what is right?

I think it is time to change those numbers! We need to embrace our beautiful selves. What are we teaching our daughters (present or future) if we have poor self-image? This “disease” perpetuates itself. If you love yourself, your daughters will love themselves, too. You cannot get your happiness from external sources (people telling you you’re beautiful). You Are Beautiful – just the way God made you!! You are His Creation – how can that not be beautiful to Him? How can you think that something He created needs to be improved?! I don’t want someone else to tell me what is beautiful. I plan on working on my self-image and self-love. Even if it means being silly – standing in front of the mirror after a shower and telling my mirrored self, “You are a beautiful creation of God.” Or dancing around naked. Do whatever it takes for you to feel beautiful. No make up. No deception. No lies. Just plain, beautiful truth. Raw. Real.

I’d wager those that start to love themselves will have a new outlook on life in general. And this will snowball into loving others, too.

I am a beautiful creation, just the way I am. You are also a beautiful creation. God made me who/how I am. I respect how He made you.

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting, Cleaning, Home Improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

