Happy New Year!

While the new year typically brings resolutions, we don’t do resolutions in our house. The no resolution mantra is two-fold. First, if something needs a resolution, why wait to one time a year? And second, many resolutions fail … especially if you try to change too many things at once and don’t have a cemented plan. Therefore, instead of resolutions, we have goals.

Some of my goals this year include:

1. More blogging! My goal is at least three times a week. To help achieve this, I’ve made some weekly topics, like Tidy Tuesdays (cleaning ideas), Wordless Wednesdays (help me bring my camera back out of hiding), and Frugal Fridays.

2. Red more novels. I love to read. Now that I’m actually getting my life back and will have time for ME, I will be reading more. Murder mystery. Suspense. Sci-fi. How-To books. Looks like I should dust off my library card. After I get done reading a book, I’ll post a little review about it here.

3. Become active again in a women’s fellowship/Bible study group at church. In fact, the new year’s women’s fellowship start this Wednesday! Looks like I’m in luck. One evening a week to fellowship with friends, while discussing invigorating topics. The 8-week study starting this week is on the book of Galatians. Women’s groups are great for support, prayer, and friendships!

4. Host a once-monthly young adult pot-bless in our home. We tried doing this last year with several couples and it lasted a few months. It is always a fun time. Good food. Good friends. Good discussions. Too often, people our age get tied up at work and in our own personal lives. Taking some time to join our friends helps us step out of our normal routine. Expand and strengthen friendships. I think the first or last Saturday or Sunday of the month would be a good fit. We plan on inviting one family at a time. That way it’s more personal.

5. Bring back game nights. Some couples have date night. Jacob and I have game night. Typically on a Friday night, we will play a game – whether that’s a board game, card game, or online. It’s a time to unwind from the week (no doing homework on Friday nights!) and prepare for the weekend. And it’s also a time to spend with each other (just the two of us). We usually end up giggling a lot, too. Sometimes game nights may be replaced with movie nights.

What are your goals for the year? How will you reach them? Are they attainable? What is your support system?

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

