Another Auto-Immune Disease?! Say WHAT?!

On Wednesday, August 17th, I was diagnosed with autoimmune thyroiditis and adrenal fatigue. The thyroiditis is another auto-immune disease where my body doesn’t recognize my thyroid and attacks it to the point of destruction. Luckily, my doctor didn’t take the typical route of radiation therapy or surgical removal (PTL!). He’d like to treat it with supplements until it “craps out.” The thyroid (just below the Adam’s apple) secretes several hormones and helps keep your body in check. It is also a key component in fertility and getting pregnant. The adrenal fatigue is linked with the thyroiditis. The adrenals also control several hormones in the body – including ones that signal sleep/wake cycles. Because my adrenals are so low functioning, I’m always tired and achy. Depression is also a symptom (I’ve been on depression meds since I was 19!). The doctor has given me several supplements to help even out things and get my systems “balanced” as they can be. In addition to supplements, he has me on a restrictive diet for 12 weeks to reduce inflammation (key component in thyroiditis and adrenal fatigue). It’s easier than I thought. No gluten (duh), no grains (of any kind, including corn and oats) and no dairy.

Jacob has leaky gut syndrome (it sounds so funny!). Basically, large proteins leak through his intestine wall and into his blood stream. This is causing psoriasis. He also had a full 150 food panel, 10 additives, and 10 food colors allergy testing done. Get this … he’s not allergic to dairy, corn, or gluten (all of his family members are!). Nope … he’s my weird engineer … and is allergic to cucumbers! Yup – no more pickles, no relish, no cucumbers. He’s not a big fan of cucumbers anyway, so that isn’t a problem, but he does like relish and tartar sauce. Oh well! He’s also allergic to apricot, blackberry, celery (dang!), green peppers (another dang!), kidney beans, papaya, and thyme. And acid orange #8, brilliant black, blue #1 (in everything!!!), saccharine (artificial sweetener), sodium sulfate, and yellow #5.

Similar to when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease, the first thing we did was go through the kitchen and donate items we could no longer have – or that wouldn’t be good in 12 weeks (like milk). We’re still finding things that have blue #1 in them – like the toothpaste.

At first I was fine with the diagnosis. Then I broke down and was scared. I still have my moments where the diagnosis is very scary. What happens if I get another auto-immune disease (lupus, multiple sclerosis, etc.)? What happens when we want to start a family? So many scary questions arise and I have no answers. It’s just another way God makes me rely on Him for strength.

So, for the next 9 weeks (we’re already 3 weeks into treatment), I’ll be posting very “safe” recipes and more information about auto-immune diseases and treatments. Stay well.

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Auto-Immune Disease?! Say WHAT?!

  1. Pamela says:

    Lots of great Paleo recipes out there that should fit the bill for you. Hope your health turns around and you start feeling a difference soon!

    • ALM Tree says:

      Thanks, Pam! I’ve been looking into the Paleo diet – and it was in our last newsletter, too! We’re having a lot of fun with the new recipes. It’s so much more healthy for us, too! Only week 3 and I’m already feeling the difference. I may not add dairy back in … it seems to give me problems. Stay well.

Leave a Reply

