Hello Friends

Hello Friends! I realized tonight that it’s been months since my last post. Things have been absolutely crazy around here! First and foremost, I have a new job I love. I now work with the Center for Disease Control at one of their National Birth Defects Registries. Basically, I work with investigators to gather DNA from parents and their children born with birth defects; analyze said DNA and try to figure out potential causes. It’s been taking up a lot of my time.

Additionally, summer is typically busy for us – out-of-town weddings, vacations, holidays, etc. And the crazy weather this summer has had me pulling my hair out trying to keep my garden fresh and healthy. Aside from all the work it’s required this year, we are looking to have a bumper crop of lettuce, sunflowers, garlic, tomatoes, peppers (bells and hot), and sweet corn!

About two weeks ago, Jacob and I went to see a holistic/naturopath allergist. I’ve been trying to loose weight for several months, but I haven’t lost much. Jacob is still struggling with his psoriasis. Together, we figured why not try this guy that was recommended – what could it hurt? Well, we went and had several tests done. Jacob had a blood test to look for allergies to over 150 foods and additives. I got a full thyroid panel done and hormone levels checked. We have to wait three weeks total to get the results back. I’m anxious to see what Jacob is allergic to – his mom is gluten intolerant, his dad is corn, gluten, and dairy intolerant, and his sister is gluten, dairy, and citrus (tomatoes and pineapples) intolerant. Hopefully once we nail that down, Doc said his psoriasis could disappear in 2-3 months! If my results come back as hypothyroidism, that would explain so much (like why I’m retaining 7 liters of water!!! That’s 16 pounds of water.) and help my weight come down. Our next appointment is August 5th. I’ll let you know what we find out.

The past few months I’ve been able to do some more (and new recipes!) GF cooking/baking. Jacob got me some new cookbooks. I hope to start blogging again soon. Things are finally beginning to slow down a bit and become more regular, allowing me to keep a schedule. Should be fun to start sharing things again. See you soon!

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

