New Beginning and New Friends

Hello friends! I do apologize for not writing in so long. I’ve been in a “funk.” I lost my job in January and things have been difficult … job searching, doing household chores (going through the entire house to Goodwill old items), and other things. While I’ve enjoyed my time at home, I’m getting a little stir-crazy. Here in Iowa, I’m ready to start my garden season, but we keep having frost advisories and freeze warnings at night. It makes it difficult to plant things!! This year we’re growing: two types of heirloom tomatoes, kung pao peppers, bell peppers, two types of lettuce, green onion, sweet corn, broccoli, carrots, garlic, and a variety of herbs. Should be an abundant summer!! I love going out to the garden in the afternoon and picking dinner.

You may be asking, “What got you out of your funk, Abby?” Well, my depression medication was adjusted, I’m exercising, and losing weight (I’ve lost 10 pounds since January … yay for Weight Watchers!). However, the two biggest differences have been my husband – and his never ending support – and my new friends. Sunday evening, the Cedar Rapids Celiac Disease group had a “meeting.” We came together at Carlos O’Kelly’s, had wonderful food, and just talked about life. I made so many new friends. Some friends have blogs like me, others are moms, and most are just ordinary people. I’m looking forward to sharing recipes and making more connections with people like me. Like I’ve said before, a support network is vital to success and happiness.

About a week ago, I started reading a book called Cereal Killers: Celiac Disease and Gluten Free from A to Z by Dr. Ron Hoggan. I’m learning quite a bit about CD and the ways it can affect your body. I highly recommend this book.

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

