Travelling with Gluten Intolerance

Initially, I thought is take a break from blogging over the holidays; however, I realized a lot of you may be travelling with gluten intolerance, like me.

Travelling with gluten intolerance does not have to be difficult. I typically travel with GF snacks in the car. Not only can you ensure you have safe foods, but its also cheaper than purchasing junk food at gas stations. This trip I packed crackers, the extra rice crispy treats, and some clementines.

Last night we stopped at HuHot for dinner. This is a great GF option. The pad thai noodles are GF safe. I add beef or tofu for protein and the choice vegetables. For the sauces, I add 1 ladle sweet & sour, 3 peanut Thai, 1 Kung Pao … Yao, and 1 sesame seed oil. As long as you tell the cooks “allergy” they’ll clean off the grill before the prepare your food and they make sure there is no contamination. Yum!

Tonight, we stopped at Subway.  Most salads are safe. I typically have a turkey salad with veggies. One thing to be aware of is the employees gloves. If you haven’t seen the employee put on the gives, ask them to change gloves. That way, you can be sure there is no contamination. While it may seem like an inconvenience, most are willing and happy to change the gloves.

I’ll be spending the next week in St. Louis with family for the holiday. Because I’m unsure of the grocery stores availability, I brought a loaf of GF bread and GF bagels (for breakfast) from home.

As I adjust to travelling with gluten intolerance, I will try to update you on how things work.

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

