Salmon Patties

Dinner tonight was a creative work of genius!

Salmon Patties
1 can wild-caught salmon
1 egg
15-20 Blue Diamond Pecan Nut Thins (you can use any variety of Nut Thins, but I felt pecans would accent the flavor of salmon very well [and I’m allergic to almonds]).
Olive oil

Drain and clean the salmon, removing the skin and any bones (usually a column of vertebrae). Place in a bowl. In the same bowl, crack one egg (raw). In a sealed bag, place the Nut Thins and crush to fine crumbles. Place in bowl. Mix salmon, egg, and cracker mixture. Add enough crackers to make the mixture stiff (able to hold a shape). Form approximately 1 inch thick patties, about the size of a tennis ball. Add olive oil to skillet and heat. Test the temperature of the skillet and oil by sprinkling water – if it sizzles and evaporates quickly, the skillet is ready. Gently place the patties into the skillet (I usually to two at a time). Cook for 1.5 – 2 minutes per side. Serve warm.

I like to serve mine with Miracle Whip (see note from Day One = New Products + New Recipes). My husband likes his with a mixture of Miracle Whip and relish (like a tartar sauce). Tonight, we ate the salmon patties with corn I canned earlier this summer. Delicious and gluten-free!!  I think next time I may serve it with homemade pea salad, too.

After dinner, the excitement wore off a bit, as my husband and I went through our cupboards and removed everything that I could no longer have. We still have a few things (like macaroni and cheese, random pasta, and soups) that he’ll finish off. We’ll be taking all unopened items to our local food shelter. The opened food, we’ll be pawning off on friends and family. It is difficult to take food out of your pantry that you love – or realizing the food you just bought, you can no longer have. However, there are a few things that make it easier. I have a wonderful support system – my husband. He supports me, knows that it is difficult, and will – in time – become mostly gluten-free, too. I don’t have any problem with people eating gluten in front of me, but when its in my own cupboard and stares back at me, it’s very tempting! I also have my faith in our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Through Him, all things are possible. He’s challenging me to expand my creative cooking skills. And, I know, from experience, that He will never give me anything I cannot handle. With these two things (and realizing it isn’t the end of the world as I know it), I can carry on. Carry on with my head held high and a smile on my face.

 

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting, Products, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

