“Dealing” With Family & Friends

It’s been a while since I wrote on dealing with gluten intolerance and adjusting to the new life.  My husband and his family are fully supportive of the lifestyle change. In fact, it was his mother that suggested I get tested and she is also gluten intolerant.

Most of my friends are curious, but don’t really understand the significance of gluten. Several times, I have to explain what gluten intolerance is, what it means, and that just 0.1 grams of gluten can cause damage to my intestines. There also seems to be an idea among a few that whey is gluten-related. This can be frustrating. Why don’t people just understand it?! Whey has nothing to do with gluten! Whey is a protein found in milk – typically in powder form.

My parents have been a bit more difficult to adjust to the gluten intolerance. They wanted several “second opinions.” I guessed that they didn’t like the fact that my mother-in-law suggest it, it was ordered online, and wasn’t a “typical” gluten test. I went to my doctor, just to appease my parents. I filled her in on everything. She didn’t think I even needed a second opinion. Besides, the blood tests can be inconclusive and expensive to run. My parents are finally adapting to the idea of their daughter having gluten intolerance.  It’s only taken 3 months. However, sometimes, it still feels like I’m a burden or just being difficult.

On several occasions when we go out to eat, my mom will worry about what I can have. I typically make due – even if I have to eat again at home. Sometimes the safest thing is fruit and vegetables.  I do get tired of eating Mexican food – I know it is safe (with corn tortillas) and it is easy to prepare. Salads are also usually safe. Dressings can be questionable. Soups are always questioned. I haven’t found a GF cheese soup yet … I’m still looking.  Chili is typically safe.  One of my favorite GF soups is New England Clam Chowder.  They also have other soups that are GF … I just saw their potato broccoli and cheddar chowder.  I’ll have to find that at the store and try it out!!

My In-laws and GF friends help in the quest for new recipes and dealing with gluten intolerance.  My husband is always supportive and tries new things with me.  I also have two applications on my Android Phone that find restaurants with GF menus in proximity to my location. One application will even link to the restaurant’s website and menu.

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

