Adjusting to Eating at Weddings

Today I had the Erewhon Strawberry cereal again. Cereal in our house, is a typical breakfast food. Because I woke up late, I didn’t eat lunch. At 2:30PM, we went to our close friend’s wedding and reception.

The reception had water, apple juice & gingerale mix, and iced tea. I started with tea and switched to apple juice and then back to tea. Come to find out, the apple juice had gluten in it … and I suffered for an hour to 90 minutes with a horrible headache (yay for Tylenol!).  After that little fiasco, I switched to water. Dinner was pretty good, although I missed having the rolls.  We were served roast beef, two types of potatoes (one mashed – safe – I asked; one hashbrowns – not safe), green beans, carrots, pasta salad, and dinner rolls. I made out pretty well and had two helpings of carrots!

The hardest part for me, was the cake cutting ceremony. I didn’t think it would be so hard, but I do have quite the sweet tooth. And watching everyone eat (and enjoy) their cake was difficult … and depressing. My husband asked me if I wanted him to get me something (like softserve), but I declined. Part of me just wanted to feel sorry for myself and cry, and the other half didn’t want to have to explain to other people and I didn’t want my hubby leaving me. The feelings eventually waned and then it was time for us (my husband and I) to work in the kitchen – drink and cake duty … just replenishing things, as needed.

On the way home, we discussed that in a situation like that, I should bring something like my cookies. I’ve got a “mom” purse anyway, so I can sneak safe food in.

 

About ALM Tree

Bachelor's degree in biology-chemistry; Masters in public health. Science nerd (and proud of it!). Wine-o, beer snob, and foodie! Always has a sense of humor and looks on the bright side.
This entry was posted in Adjusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

